Major Yogas



Pancha Maha Purusha Me Ve Ma Ju Sa in K while exalted or own sign. Bhadra, Malavya, Ruchaka, Hamsa, & Shasah respectively.


Sunapha -Mo- Anapha (not Su Ra Ke ) Dhurudhura graha-Mo-graha Kemadruma none-Mo-none (Xed if planet w/Mo or in K from L or Mo)


Vosi - Su - Vesi (don't count Mo Ra Ke ) Ubhayachari planet - Su - planet (shubha or papa)


Kartari (scissors) planet - L - planet (shubha or papa)


Shushubha (very benefic) NB in 2nd unblemished Amala (spotless) NB in 10th from Mo or L preferably unblemished


Mahabhagya (++) male day birth w/ Su Mo L in odd rashis female night birth w/ Su Mo L in even rashis (some add lagnesha, too)


Kesari Mo in K to Ju Shakata Mo in 6 or 8 to Ju and Mo not in an angle


Vasumat (rich) all NBs in upachayas from L or Mo


Pushkala (plentiful) l Mo w/ lagnesha in K or friendly rashi while L aspected by NB


Shubhamaala (+ necklace) all NBs in 5, 6, 7 Ashubhamaala (- necklace) all NBs in 6, 8 , 12


Lakshmi (prosperity) Ve and l 9 in own or exaltation rashi in K or T or (Parashari) l 9 in own or exalted rashi in K while l 1 strong


Gauri (goddess) Mo in own or exalted in K or T aspected by Ju


Saraswati (knowledge) Me Ve Ju in Ks, Ts, or 2nd while Ju in own, exalted, or friendly rashi


Sriikantha (Shiva) l 1 Su Mo in own, exalted, or friendly rashis in K or T


Sriinaatha (Vishnu) l 9 Me Ve in own, exalted, or friendly rashis in K or T


Virinchi (Brahma) l 5 Ju Sa in own, exalted, or friendly rashis in K or T


Dur (difficult) Strong l 6, 8, 12 in K or T & l 1, 4, 9, 10 weak in NH


Parivartna (exchange, endless oscillation)     Dainya (wretched) l 6, l 8, or l 12 with any other house lord


read planets into other's sign & degree           Khala (battle) l 3 with any other house lord (except dusthanas)


best planet's position provides resolution       Mahaa (great) l 1, l 2, l 4, l 5, l 7, l 9, l 10, or l 11 with each other


Parvata (mountain) l l l exalted or own rashi in K or T


Raja l 9 & l 10 together in a PH or l 4 & l 5 together in a PH


Shankha (DKA) K lord with T lord in PH


12 houses (+) house occupied/aspected by NBs while l in PH or exaltation/own rashi (-) l in NH, weak, w/aspect NM


Lagnadhi (added to Lagna) Me, Ve, Ju in 6th, 7th, & 8th from Lagna Candradhi (added to Moon) Me, Ve, Ju in 6th, 7th, & 8th from Mo


Kalanidhi (expert) Ju in the 5th in association or aspect with Me and Ve (or Ju in sign of Me or Ve)


Parvata (mountain) benefic or nothing in 7th & 8th while all Ks occupied by benefics


Brahma (the creator) NB in 4th, 10th, & 11th


Viparita (reversed, benefits from adversity) lords of 6th, 8th, 12th in 6, 8, or 12 and with another trik lord or 2 trik lords together, w/o aspect or z


(Benefits shown by house position of nakshatra dispositor of one or both planets, less benefit/more negative if planets are weakly conditioned)


Kala Sarpa all grahas between Ra and Ke (pay attention to the axis of the nodes)


Nodal Raj yogas Ra and Ke in 10th with lord of T or in 5, 9 with lord of 1, 10


Dhana yogas lords of 1, 5, & 9 with lords of 2, 11


Budhaditya un-afflicted Su with Me (preferably not combust) and either configured with strong L or 5th


Chandra-Mangala strong Mo with Ma in PH


Kahala (large drum) dispositor of dispositor of lagnesh is in own sign or exalted in kendra or trikona – l l 1 strong in T or K


Neecha Bhanga Raja Yoga neecha graha in K while: its lord in K from L or Mo or aspects graha or graha exalted in rashi in K from L or Mo


Qualifying Vargottama: Condition of natal planet, condition of natal dispositor (possible influences: powerful benefics, dig bala, sandhi)



Legend for Yoga Checklist


Yoga in blue are positive in their results.


Yogas in red are negative in their results.


The Yoga in orange is challenging in its result.


K = in a Kendra (houses 1, 4, 7, 10)


Ks = plural of K, the Kendras


K lord = the ruler of an angular house


T= in a Trikona - Trinal - house (houses 1, 5, 9)


Ts = plural of T, the Trinal Houses


T lord = the ruler of a Trinal house


Xed = canceled (ameliorated)


L = Lagna (Ascendant, First House)


x - planet - x = Two planets in both adjacent houses to the planet (one in the earlier house, one in the later house)


NB = Natural benefics (in yogas, this means Mercury, Venus, and Jupiter, even if Mercury is influenced by malefics)


NM = Natural malefics (in yogas, this means Saturn, Rahu/Ketu, Mars, and Sun)


PH = Positive House, houses 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11


NH = Negative House, houses 3, 6, 8, 12


10th from Moon = the 10th house as counted inclusively from the Moon


l 1 = lord of the First house l 2 = lord of the Second house


l 2 = dispositor of the Moon


l l 1 = lord of the lord of the First house – the dispositor of the lord of the First house


l l l 1 = lord of the lord of the lord of the First House - the dispositor of the dispositor of the lord of the First house


apoklima = the cadent houses, houses 3, 6, 9, 12


association = in the same sign (conjunction by sign)


dusthanas = houses 3, 6, 8, 12


friendly sign = the sign of a friend (use table given at the beginning of the series to determine friendly signs)


in 6 or 8 to = in six or eigth houses – counting inclusively -- from the planet considered


lagnesha = the ruler of the First House


nakshatra = the Lunar Mansion a planet is placed in


nakshatra dispositor = the planet that rules the Lunar Mansion a planet is placed in


neecha = debilitated (a planet in the sign of its debilitation)


Rahu = the North Node of the Moon


Ketu = the South Node of the Moon


panaphara = the succeedent house, houses 2, 5, 8, 11


sandhi = means transition zone, the effect is that the planet is weak because it is at 0 -1 degrees of a sign or 29 -30 degrees of a sign


strong = primarily exalted and own sign, (do notice dig bala and retrograde but omit other measures of strength in assessing yogas)


strong 2 = Moon in Taurus and Cancer, (do notice dig bala or bright – in the 6th, 7th, or 8th house from the Sun)


together = in the same sign, in the opposite sign (provided one is not in a negative house), in Parivartana yoga in good houses


trik = houses 6, 8, 12


unblemished = without association or aspect by a malefic planet (Saturn, Rahu/Ketu, Mars, Sun)


upachayas = the improving houses = houses 3, 6, 10, 11

Click to Return to Return to Home Page

Send e-mail to Hank Friedman  by clicking here

If the above email link doesn't work, please send me an email to:

Copyright © 2005 Hank Friedman --- ALL RIGHTS RESERVED