Understanding Nakshatras
By Hank Friedman

Unique to Vedic astrology are the 27 Nakshatras. Yes, the Chinese and Arabs used Lunar Mansions in a limited fashion, but the Nakshatra hold a central place in Vedic astrology, and are the core of both their Muhurta (electional astrology) and the core predictive system (Vimshottari Dasa).

And the Nakshatra offer a phenomenal wealth of understanding of the life themes of every individual too.

The primary Nakshatras to focus on in a person's chart are the Nakshatra of: The Moon, The Sun, The Ruler of the Ascendant, and the Ascendant, as these are the most important Nakshatra in a person's life.

But in order to do so with accuracy, one must first determine the degree to which the Nakshatra will manifest positively or negatively, as the meanings and effects change profoundly from good placement to poor.

For example, most people with Ashlesha in a prominent position in their chart will report feeling different from others, but whether this becomes a major challenging theme in their lives or actually gives them a valuable unique perspective depends on how good or bad the point in Ashlesha is placed.
To summarize good and bad placements:

Good: strong by sign (in own sign or exalted), retrograde or bright Moon, in a good house (1, 4, 5, 9, 10, 11), ruling good houses, with or aspected by benefics, strong in the Navamsa chart, and participating in positive yogas.

Bad: weak by sign (fallen), combust or in a planetary war, in a bad house (6, 8, or 12), with or are aspected by malefics, ruling bad houses, weak in the Navamsa chart, and participating in negative yogas.

(There is a great deal to evaluate in assessing strong/weak and good/bad placements, but that is beyond this article and explored elsewhere on this website, including here.)

As I mentioned in my latest blog (along with a list of the best Nakshatra books):

I created this Nakshatra Template for you that you can print out and then fill in with the names of those you know well. Be sure to indicate what point is in the Nakshatra.

That way you can test what you read and see if the delineations really fit the people you know.

In this introductory article, I'd just like to emphasize a few points:

1. There are no bad Nakshatras. Within Vedic lore, there are gods and demons and in fact Nakshatra that the Moon prefers, like Rohini and Pushya, and Nakshatra that the Moon doesn't like.

Similarly in Muhurta, some Nakshatra are seen as clearly more favorable both in general and for specific activities, like marriage.

But when it comes to describing the positive and negative attributes of people, I think that is is both compassionate and wise NOT to categorize Nakshatra as good or bad because all Nakshatra have positive and negative sides, and it would stigmatize people to be told that they have bad Nakshatras in their chart.

2. Most Nakshatra placements in charts are mixtures of positive and negative, and so both good and bad sides of the Nakshatra will express themselves at different times (and in different ways) in a person's life. And since most people improve with maturity, that means that the shadow sides of many Nakshatras will manifest especially when the person is young, unless the Nakshatra position is so poor that these sides persevere throughout the person's life.

3. It is incredibly worthwhile to read the stories about the gods associated with each Nakshatra, as they can indicate actual archetypes and experiences in the lives of those who have that Nakshatra emphasized.

4. Many of the Nakshatra come in pairs, with the implication that the first of the pair more unrestrained and more intense, and the second more experienced and refined. That not only includes all of the Purva and Uttara Nakshatras but also Vishaka and Anuradha. However, like all such groupings, it is too simple to stop there. One should explore where the earlier members of the pairs have advantages over the second member, and where they specifically excel.

Essentially what I'm saying is that a more balanced and mature approach to all things Jyotish is needed because it's so easy to get stuck in the good/bad polarities.

Click to Return to Return to Home Page

Send e-mail to Hank Friedman  by clicking here

Copyright © 2023 Hank Friedman --- ALL RIGHTS RESERVED